My finished Blanket Project

I decided that I needed a warmer blanket for the cool Siberian nights and so launched into a knitting project . Yes, you can buy blankets here but it seemed like a fun idea to make my own. I had a look at lots of online patterns but none of them were exactly what I was looking for so I just decided to make it up as I went along. I am in a pretty remote place, and in Russia I couldn’t buy any patterns locally as they are all in Russian which I do not speak or read.

Almost finished

Almost finished

I spent a few hours Googling to find stitches to use. Anything that didn’t look too hard was chosen! I did some squares and then unpicked them if I didn’t like them or it just didn’t look right. So it was very much a trial and error piece. The Vogue knitting stitch page was great, as was the 100 Easy-to-Knit Stitches.

Blanket 2

Cabled joins and edges

I spent many hours trawling cable patterns to find the right ones for the joining of the squares, and for the border. Then I just adapted them to fit what I wanted to do. I think I’ve spent almost as many hours undoing as I have knitting, but it has taught me a lot and I certainly have some patterns I’d love to use again and others that I’d avoid like the plague.

The back ...

The back …

I also had to make it work with the supplies I could access. I had a plan in mind when I went wool shopping but that had to change very quickly as I was only able to buy 6 balls in each colour so that was what defined the size it could be and how I could lay it out. I am sure people would just die laughing if they could see all the crazy things I did in the planning stages. I have excel spreadsheets with layouts – I could change square sizes easily in excel and add colour to get a rough idea of what it might look like! I have pages of hand written notes and pattern ideas as I didn’t have access to a printer when I started – this was definitely a learning project! blanket 1 It is a long way from perfect, and I can see many errors in it now that it is together and I would do lots of things differently if I did another one, but the initial idea was to make something that would keep me warm on the amazingly cold Siberian nights and to make it rather than buy it.. Everything here is, of course, heated but at night it can get very stuffy and I like to have the window open just a little for fresh air and you need extra blankets when its minus 30 and blowing snow outside. Blanket 5 I am happy to have completed it, and Missy loved it from the beginning …

Missy and blanket

Finished enough for me …

Please feel free to share your musings here....

