Canadian Hospitality in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

Canadian hospitality is always wonderful, but this year I was treated to a very special sort of Canadian hospitality.

IMG_5903

I met Kathi via the internet.  I was doing some research on Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk before my move here and I happened across a fabulous blog from a lovely lady that had moved to Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk early in 2013 with her husband.  I sent her as message in the hopes that she would share some insights with me.  Kathi responded immediately and we began to chat.   She kept me up to date on the happens in the city as I prepared to move.

I finally arrived a week before Christmas and sent Kathi a message to tell her I was here.  We exchanged phone numbers and Kathi issued an invitation for Christmas dinner.  I had to work Christmas day but she assured me that I could arrive after work and turkey was on the menu.

Kathi and David

Kathi and David

What a treat I had in store.  Kathi, and her husband David, welcomed me into their lovely home.  They had a beautiful tree and the whole place was filled with wonderful Christmas adornments and cheer.  Snoopy, their fabulous hound, wearing his Christmas tie greeted me as I walked in the door.  It was such a warm and welcoming place to be and I was made to feel so at home, not a stranger at all.

IMG_5904

Snoopy

Kathi and David were the best of hosts.  Everything was laid on for their guests and a fantastic evening began.  They had opened their home, and their hearts it seems, to a few of us, and we had a great time.  Their collection of Christmas orphans were treated to a feast fit for kings. They had somehow found a turkey, and it was cooked to perfection.  All the trimmings were added and the meal was spectacular.  The wine flowed, the company was excellent, and we laughed and chatted as though we had all known each other for years.  Only the best of hosts can pull off such a feat, and they did it so well.

IMG_5910     IMG_5909

Its a very special thing when you are a stranger in a strange land to be made to feel so at home, and so welcome.  Kathi and David are very special people, and they made this stranger feel special too.  It is a Christmas I will always remember, and I am so grateful to have found some wonderful new friends.  Thank you for a wonderful evening and for being such fabulous hosts, you are what Christmas is really all about.

IMG_5908

4 thoughts on “Canadian Hospitality in Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk

    • HI Kathi! Oh I do hope so – I have been doing all sorts of research and discovered so much about our new home. Spring and summer have adventures in store… in the mean time there is also so much to do over the winter. The Chekhov museum, the art gallery, the Lore museum are all beckoning … and I am on holiday again … we will have to catch up very soon 🙂

    • Thank you Jo. Yes, I feel very lucky to have met them. There are some truly wonderful people living the ex-pat life, and people like Kathi and David are like little nuggets of gold. You know you have found a treasure when you find them. Santa was good to me this year. 🙂

Please feel free to share your musings here....

