The Writing Life by Geraldine Brooks

“The bookshelves of my Australian childhood were garrisoned by foreign troops, filled with stories by faraway English people who wrote of things I couldn’t see or touch or know: A.A. Milne, Enid Blyton, C.S. Lewis; The Wind in the Willows, The Secret Garden, The Snow Goose. These were good books, but they came between me and my country. Australia had been an independent nation since 1901, but in the 1960s, my imagination was still a British colony.”

So begins a fabulous article by Geraldine Brooks called The Writing Life.

I have read all of Geraldine Brooks’ books, both non-fiction and historical fiction, and I have loved them all.  This beautifully written piece is a wonderful insight into her background and influences as a writer.

Please feel free to share your musings here....

