Everybody’s Talking about NaNoWriMo

Perhaps its just the company I am keeping these days but everyone seems to be talking about NaNoWriMo.  When I first heard about it I did the obvious thing and flew to Google to find out more, and I became enthralled.   Mr Paul Inglis; -Musings of an Eclectic Writer,  has a wonderful blog about NaNoWriMo and how he intends to tackle it this year.  Its a witty and informative piece and I suggest you make yourself a coffee and spend some time reading it, you’ll thank yourself for spending the time and come away feeling quite motivated .  

I am hoping he is going to name one of his characters Paul Panster -to find out why you need to read his blog!

Oh, I would love to take part in  this, I know a few people that are going to and I am so excited for them.  I have marked it on my calendar for next year as there is just no way that I can possibly do it this year.  Yes, yes, I know, if you want to do something badly enough you will find a way but I really do have too much happening in November to take on such a monumental challenge  –  but next year …. that’s another story.

I am currently expecting to relocate to Russia some time in the first two weeks of November.  Its all a bit up in the air right now as it takes time to organise the paperwork and visas that are needed, but the first stage has been completed and I should be looking at booking a ticket in the next week or so.    I am also furiously reading as I have three MOOCs on the go at the moment.  They are all literature based and so the reading list is currently just a little overwhelming, not to mention the forums and social network sites associated with them.  I have posted some updates on my MOOC courses on the Everyday Things pages under MOOC Courses.   It is all adding up to a very busy few months, but an extremely interesting few months.

I am also trying to get my new cyber-home a little more well furnished and cosy.  I have added my review of Seumas Gallacher’s new book, Savage Payback, to my Crime & Crime Thrillers page under the Books & Stuff heading.  Fortunately I have an extra week of leave up my sleeve as school informed me yesterday that we were delaying the start of the new term by a week.  It seems the torrential rain, that wiped out my power for three days last week, has caused some quite serious flooding in the outer suburbs and so many of the students would not be able to get to school.  I tried to looked concerned when I was told, but I was doing back-flips of joy in my mind.  Another whole week to play, yippee.  Of course at some point I really need to think about packing and finding out how I am going to get from here to Bangkok.

A 30 day period of mourning period started yesterday with the death of a local monk, His Holiness the Supreme Patriarch Somdet Phra Nyanasamvara.  The outward signs of this mourning period will be all flags in the country flying at half mast and a large percentage of the population dressing only in black and white, the colours of mourning in Thailand.  All government employees will wear all black, this will include all the teachers at public schools.  But there are many other areas of life that will be disrupted for those that live here and for those that are visiting.  Large numbers of mourners will congregate in many areas and this has a major impact on local travel  and can make it hard to get from one place to another.   Some of my more social associates have also told me that many of the local bars are having to close as the police have suggested that there be no live music or dancing allowed for the next 30 days.  The local bars in my area were all closed yesterday at 6 pm and this was enforced by a visit form the local constabulary much to the displease of the aforementioned associates.

Its 3 am here so I really should be in my wee bed to get that much needed beauty sleep, but hey, I’ve got another five days holiday and I plan on making the most of it.  Its time to write an essay and finish the current book from the reading list, The Ghost Bride, a fabulous Historical Fiction book by Yangsze Choo,  I am really enjoying it, a review is to follow.

2 thoughts on “Everybody’s Talking about NaNoWriMo

  1. It appears we have a lot in common . . . the comment you made about NaNoWriMo made me stop because I’m registered for it (for the third time), then what you wrote about the monk in Thailand caught my attention, but the last paragraph and the fact that you’re reading ‘The Ghost Bride’ made me wonder if you’re in the same Coursera course I am — on Plagues, Witches . . .

    • YES! I am loving Plagues, Witches and War. I think it is the best course I have done in a very long time. I do have a sad tendency to get very lost in the forums and spend endless hours exchanging deep and not necessarily meaningful, thoughts with some of the fabulous people who are enrolled. The FB page has also taken more of my time than it should, but is a great hang out spot. Good Luck for NaNoWriMo, I am envious (in the nicest possible way) and I shall be lurking the corridors to pick up tips for next year. I shall look forward to hearing all about from you …

Please feel free to share your musings here....

